data.headimageTitle

Sustainability

As the major social challenge for our times, sustainability of course also plays an important role in the daily work with our children.

Early childhood is an especially sensitive and formative phase of development. The values and convictions which children acquire in this phase have a decisive influence on how they conduct themselves in relation to other people and the environment in their later lives. For these reasons the protected sphere of childhood requires a child-oriented link to the world of experience, so the children can be helped to acquire the right attitudes and values.

For this purpose UNESCO dedicated the world decade of 2005-2014 to "Sustainable learning - education for sustainable development", and expressly included day nurseries in the scope of the programme.

BIO KIDS

In our everyday operations the idea of sustainability is applied in many areas: for example, within their groups our “bio kids“ avoid waste and practice how to separate waste correctly. During our regular trips to the forest and nature exploration days they discover – with a magnifying glass and lots of curiosity – insects, leaves, trees and all the other exciting things they encounter on their excursions.

Each of our day nurseries has a garden in which the children can – with loving care – sow, plant and harvest crops and then eat what they grow.

LONG-TERM PROJECTS

Our children put the idea of sustainability into everyday practice in a range of projects such as the rainwater collecting station, a small pond with fish, frogs and plants which the children themselves helped to create.

A special role is played here by the 'bee meadow', where in the course of the seasons the children make a wide range of observations and help to ensure that the meadow is preserved intact for the bees. Experts such as beekeepers and farmers contribute their own specialist knowledge.

UPCYLING

The re-use of materials for handicrafts in the groups is another very special project. For this purpose we have established a materials cupboard, our „Marvin 2.0“, in which re-usable objects are collected and made available for creative use within the groups.

to the next point

data.headimageTitle

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit als große gesellschaftliche Herausforderung und Aufgabe unserer Zeit findet auch in der täglichen Arbeit mit unseren Kindern ihren Platz.

Die frühe Kindheit ist eine besonders sensible und prägende Phase der Entwicklung. Die Werthaltungen und Überzeugungen, die Kinder sich in dieser Phase aneignen, sind prägend dafür, wie sie sich in ihrem weiteren Leben sich selbst, anderen Menschen und der Umwelt gegenüber verhalten. Vor diesem Hintergrund braucht der geschützte Raum der Kindheit einen kindgerechten Bezug zur Lebenswelt in der sich Kinder diese Haltungen und Werte aneignen können.

Die UNESCO hat dazu die Weltdekade 2005-2014 „Nachhaltig lernen - Bildung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung“ ausgerufen und Kindergärten ausdrücklich einbezogen.

BIO KIDS

In unserem Alltag findet die Idee der Nachhaltigkeit in vielen Bezügen statt, z.B. achten unsere „Bio Kids“ auf Müllvermeidung und Mülltrennung in ihren Gruppen. Bei den regelmäßigen Wald- und Naturtagen erforschen sie mit Lupe und viel Interesse Insekten, Blätter, Bäume und was sich bei den Ausflügen sonst noch Spannendes finden lässt.

In allen Einrichtungen gibt es Hochbeete oder einen Garten, wo die Kinder mit viel Liebe säen, pflanzen, ernten und die Erzeugnisse verwerten.

DAUERPROJEKTE

In zahlreichen Projekten wie der Regenwasserauffangstation, einem kleinen Teich mit Fischen, Fröschen und Pflanzen, den die Kinder selbst mit angelegt haben, setzen sie den Gedanken der Nachhaltigkeit in alltägliches, praktisches Handeln um.

Einen besonderen Raum nimmt das Bienenfeld ein, wo die Kinder im Ablauf der Jahreszeiten vielfältige Beobachtungen machen und selbst mit dafür sorgen , dass das Feld für die Bienen intakt bleibt. Fachleute, wie Imker und Bauern vermitteln spannendes Wissen aus ihren Fachbereichen dazu.

UPCYLING

Ein ganz besonderes Projekt ist die Weiterverwendung von „Abfallmaterialen“ zum Basteln und als Arbeitsmaterial in den Gruppen. Dazu haben wir einen eigenen Materialschrank entwickelt, in dem „Abfallmaterialien“ gesammelt und ästhetisch ansprechend in den Gruppen bereitgestellt werden, unseren „Marvin 2.0“.

zum nächsten Punkt